Jena XX

From lotico
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Date: August 27, 2020 - 5pm London, 6pm Berlin and 12pm New York and 9am San Francisco Time

Chapter: Global

Event ID:

Location: web video chat

RSVP: LinkedIN, Meetup.com


20 Years of Jena - A Java API for RDF

On Monday August 28, 2000 Brian McBride a researcher and HP employee at Bristol Labs in the UK announced "Jena - A Java API for RDF" on the W3C RDF Interest Group mailing list. Having examined existing tools at the time and contemplated new ideas for a RDF API dedicated to the Java ecosystem Brian must have felt that the community was ready for a standardized set of tools to develop Semantic Web applications. Last but not least to help encourage the adoption of RDF. An open source project dedicated to the emerging Semantic Web and the corresponding activity at the W3C, long before the project became a top level Apache project on April 18 in 2012, simply known as Jena.

Jena today is more than an approximation or just true to the word Java implementation of the RDF specifications. Over the years many new innovations were introduced that shaped the RDF tooling and Semantic Web landscape itself significantly. Among them are query languages for RDF, efficient storage support and a HTTP RDF server enabling RESTful SPARQL endpoints just to mention a few. It is no surprise that many of the concepts behind these contributions later found their way into W3C recommendations, the highest form of endorsement by the W3C. Other innovations entered the RDF universe as independent contributions in the form of extensions to the core project such as GeoSPARQL, JenaBeans and many more. All enabled and inspired by the availability of a core set of features found in the open source Jena API. At this lotico event we are going to celebrate and recall some of the Jena milestones and learn from community members and project contributors about past developments, the state of the art and future directions.

References

https://jena.apache.org/

Jena, SPARQL and TDB - RDF at scale, a conversation with Andy Seaborne, June 24, 2010

Event Classification

Session-Type: Community - API - Technology - History
Session-Level: Intermediate