FAIR Data Spaces

From lotico
Jump to navigation Jump to search


FAIR Data Spaces Now!

Date: 11/17/2022 Time: 5pm Berlin and Zurich / Dublin and London 4pm / 11am New York / 8am San Francisco
Location: Online
Platform: zoom
Registration Count to date: 53

Description

The ability to exchange data is becoming more important in many aspects of professional and social life - in research, mobility, health, energy, social media, and many more. Hence efforts are underway to develop reliable infrastructure for data spaces - in Europe, this includes common shared data spaces such as GAIA-X, the European Open Science Cloud, the German National Research Data Infrastructure (NFDI), just to name a few. But importantly they all have an essential feature in common: FAIR data principles, which provide common semantics to build interoperable shared data spaces.

Speaker

Stefan Decker is a full professor of Databases and Information Systems at RWTH Aachen University and director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Information Technology (FIT), which works on several data space initiatives. He previously was director of DERI Ireland, worked at Stanford University and the Information Sciences Institute (ISI), and worked on many seminal Semantic Web activities. He currently advises the German government within the National Council on Information Infrastructures (RfII).

StefanDecker_256.jpg

Registration


External References

http://www.stefandecker.org