Your Personal Linked Data Graphs with Solid

From lotico
Revision as of 16:05, 5 April 2021 by Marco (talk | contribs)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Date: 27 May 2021

Time: 5pm Berlin, 4pm Dublin and 11am New York and 8am San Francisco Times

Location: Online zoom / youtube

Current Registration Count: 31



Most Web applications today follow the adage “your data for my services”. They motivate this deal from both a technical perspective (how could we provide services without your data?) and a business perspective (how could we earn money without your data?). Decentralizing the Web means that people gain the ability to store their data wherever they want, while still getting the services they need. This requires major changes in the way we develop applications, as we migrate from a closed back-end database to the open Web as our data source. I will discuss paradigm shifts a decentralized Web brings, demonstrating that decentralization is about much more than just controlling our own data. It is a fundamental rethinking of the relation between data and applications, which—if done right—will accelerate creativity and innovation for the years to come.

https://ruben.verborgh.org/articles/redecentralizing-the-web/


Speaker

Ruben Verborgh

is a professor of Decentralized Web technology at IDLab, Ghent University – imec, and a research affiliate at the Decentralized Information Group of CSAIL at MIT. I’m also a technology advocate for Inrupt, supporting the Solid ecosystem that gives you back control and choice—online and offline. I love discussing about the Web, Linked Data, decentralization, Web APIs, hypermedia clients, and much more.

https://ruben.verborgh.org


* if you have successfully registered here there is no need for you to register in local chapters elsewhere as well, you are all set.


Event Classification

Session-Level: Beginner - Intermediate - Advanced
Session-Type: Web Technology - Standards - Community Trend - Paradigm Shift
Session-Language: English